Fidest – Agenzia giornalistica/press agency

Quotidiano di informazione – Anno 31 n° 330

Posts Tagged ‘work of art’

Artists’ Books for Everything

Posted by fidest press agency su venerdì, 2 giugno 2017

mostra bremaBremen Tuesday to Sunday 11:00 a.m.–6:00 p.m. Thursday 11:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m. Closed on Monday. ADMISSION Adults: €8.00 Reduced: €5.00 Families (2 adults/4 children): €14.00 Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen – Centre for Artists’ Publications – in der Weserburg Museum für Moderne Kunst Teerhof 20. Artists’ books represent a particular phenomenon within contemporary art. Since their emergence in the 1950s they have become established worldwide as a new type of art. Artists’ books are autonomous works of art in the form of books. Works of art in large editions, they exemplify the democratisation of art as well as the mobility and interconnectedness of artists. Artists’ books are independent works of art – published, printed and copied – that are born of an artistic conception, in the tradition of Dieter Roth, Ilya Kabakov and Marcel Broodthaers in Europe, Ed Ruscha and Michael Snow in North America, Ulises Carríon, Clemente Padin and Edgardo Antonio Vigo in Latin America, William Kentridge in Africa, Yoko Ono in Asia and Robert Jacks in Australia.
The exhibition aims to present the first ever survey of the evolution and dissemination of artists’ books today and to illustrate the diversity of this genre. It will include artists’ books produced in the last five years or so. To this end, the Centre for Artists’ Publications, in a Call for Artists’ Books, invites artists from throughout the world to participate in this international exhibition of artists’ books. Under the title “Künstlerbücher für Alles – Artists‘ Books for Everything – Livres d’artiste pour tout”, books can be submitted until the end of April 2017. All books submitted must be produced in large editions (not unique copies or edited in small print runs) and marketed by booksellers or galleries or by the artists themselves.
The purpose of the exhibition is to display artists’ books from all continents – with their differences and similarities, their varied characteristics, themes and motifs – and thus to give a representative overview of the current artists’ book scene. The exhibition also aims to highlight the significance and the value of artists’ books in contemporary art. The Call for Artists’ Books is addressed particularly to artists from Africa, Asia and Central or South America, whose works are often unknown in Europe.
The title or slogan “Künstlerbücher für Alles” or “Artists’ Books for Everything” makes reference to the Zeitschrift für Alles (“Magazine for Everything”) by the Swiss/German artist Dieter Roth, who likewise invited artists to contribute works of art to his project. A catalogue will be compiled of all the artists’ books included in the exhibition.This exhibition is organised in collaboration with the University of Bremen.
Una mostra del Centro per le pubblicazioni degli artisti.
Brema Giugno 3 – 6 agosto 2017 Inaugurazione: 2 giugno 2017, ore 19:00 Centro per le pubblicazioni degli artisti / Weserburg Teerhof 20. Più di 400 presentazioni provenienti da tutto il mondo sono arrivate, tra le altre da Corea e Colombia. Essi formano una varietà di libri di artisti che il progetto può trarre. Il GRUPPO SINESTETICO (Albertin, Sassu, Scordo) è presente con il libro “Sinestetica e Sinestesia” Libri degli artisti per tutto. 

Posted in Estero/world news, Mostre - Spettacoli/Exhibitions – Theatre | Contrassegnato da tag: , , | Leave a Comment »